Routines Make Me Happy

9.08.2016
I very much live by my routine.  I'll throw it off sometimes, like when I go to a mid-week dinner with a friend, but in generally I believe that my routine makes my life easier and everyone happier.  I'm able to get a lot done in a day!  So here's my lineup.  It's just what works for me, right now at least.  Oh and I feel like I need to start out by saying - don't let the time frame fool you.  I may wake up at 4:30 a.m., but I go to sleep at 8 p.m.  I get my 8 hours, trust me.
Weekday Mornings
4:30 a.m. - Alarms Go Off.  I like to wake up and go to bed when John does.  It's just what I do.  It doesn't have to be, since I start work much later, but I don't like quietly tip toeing to bed at 10 at night and trying to sleep restlessly until 6 in the morning, even though I actually woke up with his alarm.  I just all around think it's nicer to be on the same sleep schedule as him.  It's comforting.  Anyway, he has to be at the academy for training by 5... something.  5:15?  5:30?  Either way, it's a quick drive and he's fast at getting ready in the morning.  I think his alarm goes off at 4:25 and he checks sports news on his phone, and then mine goes off at 4:30.

4:30 - 5:00 a.m. - All the morning stuff.  Put in my contacts, brush my teeth, etc.  Make coffee.  Eat a banana while I'm waiting for coffee.  I drink my coffee while I prep for dinner.  If anything needs to be chopped, marinated, or put in the crockpot, etc. I do that now.  If I need anything for lunch I make that now too, though I generally get that done on weekends.  This rarely takes a full 30 minutes, but I'm estimating.

5:00 - 5:45 a.m. - Cleaning things!  I make the bed, wipe down John's bathroom (it never dries well after his shower.  Plus I hate spots on the faucets and handles), clean the kitchen and start the dishwasher, and start laundry as needed (not every day.)  Then, depending on the day, there's 5 main cleaning tasks I cycle through - vacuuming, washing the floors, dusting/wiping down all surfaces, cleaning the bathrooms, and general organizing and decluttering, which usually means the dining room table.  Since I keep up with it at least weekly, it takes minutes.

5:45 - 6:45 a.m. (ish) - Shower, fix my hair, do my makeup.  Throw 'dog walking clothes' on (like yoga pants or whatever.  I put the same clothes on when I get home after work.)  It's on the longer side of things if I have to dry my hair, which is why I try to only wash my hair twice a week, one of which being a weekend day.

Whenever that's all done - 7:10 a.m. - Walk Hawkeye. Walk length always depends on how long it takes me to do other things - if I had to wash my hair that day, that's a bigger time suck.  If it's a more complicated dinner I prepped, also a time suck.  When we get back, I put on whatever I'm wearing to work that day (usually I check the weather the night before and mentally figure it out but I have like, less than 15 pieces I could choose from in a given season so it's not that hard), check her food and water and give her a bone and then head out the door myself. 

7:15 a.m. - I head out the door for work.  I generally estimate about 45 minutes for commuting.  Sometimes it's more if there's a problem but I don't 'get in trouble' if I'm not there at 8.  If it gets to be about 10 and I'm not there, then my boss starts to wonder.  But I try to arrive by 8.  Sometimes the train is super quick and I'm downtown by 7:45.  All depends.


Work Day
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. - Work day!  I'm in the office a full 9 hours.  Although I make sure I'm ON my train by 5, rather than walk out the door at 5.  The train stops directly in front of my building.  There's nothing really eventful about my day to share here.


Weekday Evenings
5:40 (ish) - 6:00 p.m. - Walk Hawkeye.  As soon as I get home (however long the commute takes), I grab her leash by the door and we walk right back out.  I'll put down my bag, but other than that, I cannot go too far into the house or we will never leave again.  Seriously!  Just me?  I walk her until 6, so sometimes it's 10 minutes, sometimes it's 30.  She doesn't seem to mind either way.  (Unless it's hot, then it's a short walk and she hates me for it regardless.)

6:00 - 6:30 p.m. - Put on lounge clothes and cook dinner.  I try to clean up the kitchen as I go, including emptying the dishwasher I had started that morning, and talk to John about his day.  He's usually sitting in the dining room working on his homework (yep, fire academy has tons of homework.)  I make sure Hawkeye has food and fresh water.  She's on free feed, which means her food chills in her bowl and she eats when she's hungry, like a cat.  Usually dogs can't do this, they'll eat it all, but she doesn't.  Probably because she gets so much people food.

6:30 p.m. - Dinner is on the table.  I always try to have it ready by 6:30.  If the commute took longer to get home, I pick one of the dinner options that takes less time to make.  Occasionally it's already in the crockpot and ready and I just make sides.  More on meal planning under the Weekend heading.

6:30 to 7:30 (ish) p.m. - We watch something on Netflix while we eat.  We've never been big on sitting at the dining table, we're couch and TV people, it is what it is!  Right now we're watching House, so the episode is like 45, 50 minutes, something like that.  I'll switch out the laundry if anything was running from the morning, or fold clothes if they're ready.  I have never been able to just sit at watch, I have to have my hands busy.  Except during Harry Potter marathons.

7:30 - 8:00 p.m. - I take off my makeup and wash my face, do the moisturizer and all that stuff (updated products I use post coming soon), brush my teeth, and make sure I stop back in the kitchen to clean up any dinner plates and take my vitamins.  [I take vitamins at night because a lot of vitamins are fat soluble, like vitamin D, meaning that if you take it in the morning with your breakfast of fruit and oatmeal, it won't absorb as well - you need a small amount of fat, like avocado or ya know, ice cream.  Which is more likely to be eaten with dinner.  Tip from my doctor dad to you.]  At this point I iron John's uniform, which has to get washed and ironed every night.  He throws it in the wash when he gets home so it's ready for ironing by this point.  He shines his boots while I iron, it's like bonding or something.  Then it's bed time!  We try to climb in bed at 8 (after Hawkeye spends some time in the backyard) so I fall asleep by 8:30.  If we're in bed pretty early we'll watch something on my laptop, like Malcolm in the Middle, which never gets old, I tell you.  And then I'm out!

The evening routine applies to Sunday evenings (well, minus the work commute) but not Fridays.  Friday is weekend we generally order pizza or grill in the backyard, if we don't have something planned.


Weekend
There's no real schedule to the weekend, since we usually have some things planned with other people.  And by plans I mean:

I meal plan on Sundays and then grocery shop right after.  And I make sure I meal prep on Sundays, like chopping all of John's fruits for breakfast, making and freezing his food for lunches, prepping my lunch (Greek salad and/or a soup, usually) if I'm not planning on leftovers.  I can do a post on all this meal stuff, if that's interesting to anyone.  We eat leftovers on the weekends if we don't go out somewhere.  I deep clean whatever needs it depending on the amount of down time I have.  Like cleaning the fan blades, door frames (I HATE dirt and dust on top of door frames.  Go clean those.  I bet you haven't in awhile.), the microwave or stove or fridge, ya know, whatever.  I also wash the sheets and towels on the weekend, generally Sundays. 

And that's it, that's my routine.  At least, I hope I didn't miss anything...

No comments:

Post a Comment